The Articles (Dutch version/ French versionof Association of the Ombudsman for Retail (NPO) provide for the following bodies that contribute to its smooth operation:


The Board of Directors approves the Rules of Procedure, appoints the conciliators and audits the budget. It is composed of representatives from the retail sector. Hugues Robert chairs the Board. In addition to its chairperson, the Governing Board is composed of Frederik De Vetter, Pascal Léglise, Catherine Denoyette, Sophie Vandriessche, Antonia Block and Steven De Smet. Directorships are unpaid and the term of office is three years.


The monitoring committee is composed of representatives from the retail sector, consumers and experts in consumer law or dispute settlement. The Monitoring Committee reviews whether the conciliation procedure is implemented in an impartial and independent way. It may express recommendations regarding the operation, the rules of procedure and the annual report. Professor Stefaan Voet chairs the Committee. The other members are Jean de Leu de Cecil and Cynthia Van der Linden.


The Management is responsible for the day-to-day operations and is entrusted to Comeos. Vincent Becker is in charge of managing the Ombudsman and the processes, and is appointed for an indefinite term of office. The operational management of complaints is assured by Aline Nizeyimana, a legal expert. She reviews the admissibility of complaints and ensures that each case is processed efficiently, in compliance with regulatory guidelines, providing thorough follow-up from initiation to resolution.